Deanery Synod

Easingwold Deanery Synod is where clergy and lay representatives from each Parish come together to:

  • hear about and support each other in mission within our Deanery,

  • discuss and make decisions on key issues: local, Diocesan and national

  • and approve some practical matters for the running of the Deanery

We meet three times a year in the Deanery Synod and minutes from these meetings are shared with all Parochial Church Councils (PCCs).

The Deanery Synod approved the Easingwold Deanery Plan in 2017.

A key outcome has been the establishment of Deanery Interest groups, which bring together individuals from across the Deanery with a passion for a particular are of mission: 

The Deanery Synod has an important role to play in the governance of the Church of England as issues for consultation and decision are passed on from General Synod and the Synod of York Diocese and then via the lay representatives of the Deanery Synod to their Parishes and Benefices.

The Deanery Synod functions within structures and procedures established by the Deaneries Working Group and approved by York Diocesan Synod in 2017.  The Synod is jointly chaired by the Area Dean and Lay Dean.  They are members of the Deanery Leadership Team which also includes the Deanery Secretary, the Deanery Financial Adviser, the Deanery Co-ordinator and one or two elected representatives from each the clergy and laity.  The Deanery Leadership Team meets six times each year and agrees the business for the Synod.

Deanery Leadership Team
L-R Sian Merritt (Deanery Synod Secretary), Revd Martin Harrison, Revd Margaret Young,
Margaret Price (Lay Dean), Jane Johnson (Deanery Treasurer) & Janet Mountain (Lay Member -not pictured).

The Clergy also meet monthly in the Clergy Chapter.  They are all members of the Easingwold Mission Partnership which enables them to support each other across parish and Benefice boundaries.